Of OSSs and FYPs – Part 1

I have been working on small Open Source Software for some time now. It started as a hobby when showing off what I had made seemed cool, most of the stuff being related to the course work. I have come across multiple organizations who encourage girls to code (and contribute to open source software) like Girls Who Code, Black Girls Code, Robo Gals etc. However, it comes as a shock to see only 16% of the tech industry comprising of females. Moreover, only 6% of the GIT contributors are females! 😮 😕 (stats from the mentioned sources)

Meanwhile, the final year of my degree had just begun. Like many others around me, I was in a dilemma to choose a final year project which would bring out the best in me. Luckily, I did not have to look around much as I found one that suited my interests pretty quickly.

MPJ Express is an open source Java message passing library that allows application developers to write and execute parallel applications for multicore processors and compute clusters/clouds. My part of the project “Towards adopting MPI Standard 2.0 in the MPJ Express software” requires me to implement Dynamic Process Management for MPJ Express. Looking forward to working on my first major OSS! 😀

*Fingers crossed* 😛

Leave a Reply

